About Enugu Electricity Distribution Company

EEDC CHQElectric Power development in Nigeria started toward the end of 19th century when the first generating plant of 30KW was installed in the city of Lagos in 1898. From this date onwards and until 1950, the pattern of electricity development was inform of individual electricity under-taking set up in various towns somewhere by Native or Municipal authorities.
In 1946, the Nigerian Government Electricity undertaking was established within the then Public Works Development (PWD) to take over the responsibilities for electricity in Lagos State.

In 1950 the Government passed the Electricity Corporation of Nigeria Ordinance No.1 of 1950 to integrate power development and make it effective. This ordinance brought all the electricity undertakings and the electricity sections of PWD under control. The Electricity Corporation of Nigeria (ECN) then became the statutory body responsible for Generation, Transmission, Distribution and Sales of Electricity to all consumers in Nigeria.

In 1962, the Niger Dams Authority was established by an Act of the Parliament. The Authority was responsible for the construction and maintenance of Dams and other works on the river Niger and elsewhere, generating electricity by means of water, improving navigation and promoting fisheries and irrigation.

The Electricity Corporation of Nigeria (ECN) and the Niger Dams Authority (NDA) were merged to become National Electric Power Authority (NEPA) by decree No.24 of 1972. The Authority was to develop and maintain an efficient, co-ordinate an economic system of electricity supply for all parts of the Federation. The Authority generates electricity through two major sources: Hydro and Thermal. The Hydro Power stations are Kainji Hydro Power station with capacity of 760MW, Jebba Hydro Power station with 578.4MW capacity, Shiroro Hydro Power Station 600MW. The Thermal Power stations are: Afam Thermal Power station with 696MW, Lagos thermal power station, Delta IV thermal Power station with 600MW and Sapele Thermal Power station 1020MW.

However, the need to reform the Electricity industry necessitated the transformation of NEPA into Power Holding Company of Nigeria (PHCN) in 2004.
The Electricity Reform Act of 2005, unbundled PHCN into 11 Distribution companies, 1 Transmission Company and 6 Generation companies. This Reform Act gave birth to Enugu Electricity Distribution Company (EEDC).