EEDC Implements The Revised Service Reflective Tariff

The Enugu Electricity Distribution PLC (EEDC) has commenced implementation of the revised Service Reflective Tariff (SRT). The tariff which took effect on November 1, 2020 was approved by the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).


The review is based on the outcome of joint consultative meetings held between the Federal Government of Nigeria (FGN), Labour Unions and other stakeholders, following concerns expressed over the basis for the Service Reflective Tariff earlier planned to be implemented from September 1, 2020.


As a result of this development, customers on prepaid platform will begin to experience the revised tariff as they recharge their meters; while customers on postpaid platform will only begin to experience the revised tariff in their December bill, which will be for their consumption in the month of November.


In this tariff Order, customers are classified into three major clusters, namely: Non-MD, MD-1 and MD-2; while five distinctive bands (A-E) have been created to reflect the various service levels and guaranteed daily minimum hours of power supply to customers.


However, the impact of the reviewed tariff only applies to customers in Bands A, B and C; while tariff for those in Bands D and E remains frozen. For instance, Non-MD customers in Band A, with guaranteed minimum daily supply of 20 hours will now pay N55.93/Kwh. Band B customers with guaranteed minimum daily supply of 16 hours will be charged N54.80/Kwh; while Band C customers with guaranteed minimum daily supply of 12 hours daily will be charged N48.89/Kwh.


The revised tariff is expected to improve efficiency in delivering quality service to customers and will equally ensure the sustenance of the operators within the Nigerian Electricity Supply Industry (NESI).


EEDC therefore urged her customers to support the company as it continues to strive towards consistently improving its operations and quality of services.